2000 Rs of Excellence Award Winners

2000 Municipal Program Award – Town of Sundre

The 2000 Municipal Program Award was presented to the Town of Sundre for a decade of commitment to waste minimization. Nita Bartholow, Assistant Administrator with the Town received the award, having been actively involved in the development of this successful program which began in 1989.

2000 Innovative Product Award – Alberta Environmental Rubber Products

The 2000 Innovative Product Award went to Alberta Environmental Rubber Products, represented by Glenn Cohen, President of this premier Western Canadian company that produces rubber crumb from recycled scrap tires.

2000 Industrial Commercial Institutional – Canterra Tower

The third Rs of Excellence Award presented was in the Industrial Commercial Institutional category. Manager Bruce Mackenzie accepted the award for Canterra Tower, which has achieved an unprecedented 62% waste reduction and is the first commercial office building to receive the prestigious ISO 14000 designation.

2000 Innovative Program Award – Calgary Region Home Builders Association

The Innovative Program Award was presented in recognition of the Calgary Region Home Builders Association’s ongoing commitment to waste minimization since 1995. Their mission “To create a cost effective and clean environment in the new housing and renovation industry in the Calgary area” led CRHBA to establish a waste sub-committee to address waste management issues.

2000 Special Individual Achievement Award – Dean Bell

The climax of the awards ceremony was a special Individual Achievement Award presented to Dean Bell of Alberta Environment. Dean was recognized by his many friends in the recycling industry for his tireless work as a catalyst for many successful Alberta waste reduction initiatives. In addition to the beautiful recycled glass Rs of Excellence Award, Dean was presented with a framed caricature, as well as a letter of congratulations from Premier Ralph Klein.